Race Rules

Each team will have six racers and will consist of:
– A Professional Skier: A decorated racer with national team pedigree
– A Team Captain: The buyer/organizer of the team
– Four competitors: Selected by the team captain
– Note: The team captain does not have to compete! In this case, there would be five competitors.

The race will be a dual giant slalom set on Little Nell, one of Aspen’s most famous runs.

Each racer must take one run down both Giant Slalom courses the day prior to the competition. Times recorded for these runs will be the basis for ‘handicapping’, so racers are honor-bound to perform their best. Racers should participate in ‘handicapping’ wearing the same outerwear and using the same equipment that they plan to wear/use for race day. Handicapping times will be adjusted throughout the race day.

Each racer will compete head-to-head with racers of relatively equal ability from three different teams. The start gate will open first for the racer who has the higher handicap. Racers must complete the course (by turning around all gates) to earn a qualifying time.

In the First Round, teams will race each other in a Round Robin format with each team competing against the three other teams in their group. Group A (teams 1, 2, 3 and 4) and Group B (teams 5 – 8) will start at 9:00. Group C (teams 9-12) and Group D (teams 13-16) will start at approximately 10:30.

During each Round Robin, individual victories will be tallied. Within each group, the team with the most victories will advance to the semifinals.

If two teams tie for the top spot within a group, the tiebreaker will be the results of the head-to-head matchup between those two teams. (It could be 6-0, 5-1, 4-2 or 3-3)

If the two teams tied in their matchup (3-3), the Pros from those teams use the results of the Pro head-to-head within that respective matchup to break the tie and will advance to the Semifinals.

The Semifinals will pit the winner of Group A versus Group B in a one-run matchup, followed by the race between the Group C and Group D winners. In the case of a tie (3-3), the result of the Pros’ race will determine the winning team (using handicapped times).

The two winners of the Semifinals will advance to the Finals, which will be a two-run race, time permitting. Teams will race on the red or blue course and will switch courses for the 2nd run. In the case of a tie, the winning Pro will determine the winning team, based on a combined handicapped time of the two runs.

We have a Race Committee and jury to settle all questions. The jury consists of Chris Davenport (Race Chair) and John Jett (Chief of Timing). AVSC Race Director Pat Callahan will serve as Course Referee, and Brian Davies will be the Chief of Race.

If a racer is perceived by the race committee to have intentionally impacted their time, the race committee reserves the right to disqualify them from the run.

The winning team will be presented with the coveted Gorsuch Cup at the après party, as well as beautiful Hayes belt buckles provided by Gorsuch. The Gorsuch name is synonymous with skiing excellence, family tradition, generosity, and style. From the family’s Olympic heritage to their philanthropy and sponsorship in skiing, this trophy will forever be associated with champions both on and off the hill. The trophy will be proudly displayed in a window of the Gorsuch store in Gondola Plaza at the base of Aspen Mountain.